BBQ Chicken Pizza with Arugula and Sunflower Seeds

Standard

Go ahead and break out your elastic waistband pants, because you’re going to want to eat a lot of this.

I’ve never been good with measurements, but here is the ingredient list with estimated measurements:

  • 1.5  cups shredded chicken
  • 1 cup barbecue sauce
  • 2 cups arugula
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella
  • pizza dough
  • sunflower seeds
  • dried oregano
  • Italian garlic gold nuggets

First, boil your chicken.  I used Windy Hill Farm chicken tenders.  I’m not really sure how long…..because I came home, put the burner on high, and went into another room to read some blogs.  It was when I heard a big gurgle and PLOP, that I realized “oh yeah, I’m boiling chicken.”  I’d say maybe 20 minutes should do it.

Then I shredded the chicken, placed it in a baking dish, and smothered it in barbecue sauce.  I put it in the oven at 200 degrees for an hour while I went to the gym.  This warmed up the barbecue sauce and made the chicken a little more tender.  If you don’t want to go to the gym for an hour (you know you should), you could just crank up the oven to 400 degrees for about 20 minutes, or just skip the oven part all together.

Still with me? Listen carefully.

It’s important to spray your pan before you do anything else!  I often times forget.

Next, prepare your dough as directed on the package.  I used Trader Joe’s refrigerated dough.  All I have to do is set it out for 20 minutes, then I stretch it and shake it like a Polaroid picture.  Heyah.

Spread some olive oil on top.

Vee is our hand model for this evening.

Spread some barbecue sauce on top.  Don’t go overboard, you will still have lots of sauce on the chicken.

Top that off with some sprinkles of dried oregano and Italian Garlic Gold Nuggets.  If you have not tried Garlic Gold Nuggets, then you are truly missing out.  The name is, as implies – GOLD.  I am officially out.

Wash the arugula and send it through the salad spinner.  If you do not have  a salad spinner, be sure to blot all the moisture you can with paper towels.  No one wants a soggy pizza!

Cheese please!

Add the chicken.

Top it all off with sprinkles of love sunflower seeds.

Pop it in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

