You Can’t Have Dessert Unless You Finish Your Veggies

Standard

Isn’t that what your Mom always told you?  I don’t think my Mom had to, since I ate them already 🙂

I signed up for the Know Your Farms CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) for the next 4 weeks.  Know Your Farms is a company that travels to surrounding farms and puts together a CSA for you to pick up once a week.  I initially decided to do this to ensure that I had access to local produce every week.  I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to go to the Farmers’ Market every Saturday due to being out of town.  I know that some Farmers’ Markets are open during the week, but I’m not able to make it to those during that time.  I also wanted to be able to have my Saturdays back so I could sleep late…..but I can already tell that’s not going to happen.  I plan on getting up early again tomorrow and going to the Atherton Market!  It’s like some kind of addiction I have.

Know Your Farms CSA

Zucchini

Squash

Cucumbers

Collards

Lambs Quarters

Kale

Onions

I was so excited to pick up the box.  I opened the top like a surprise present!  There was one item that I didn’t recognize.  I didn’t ask the lady because I was too embarrassed to admit that I didn’t know what it was!  Next time I won’t be so shy 🙂 I came home and did some research on the internet and found out it was Lamb’s Quarters.  It is apparently one of the most nutritious weeds you can eat and can be used in place of spinach in recipes.  The next day, someone posted a pic of the weed on the Know Your Farms Facebook page and asked what it was.  At least I wasn’t the only one!  The Know Your Farms people also posted a recipe for the Lamb’s Quarters which I made.  It was good and I would make it again.  Vee, however, said it was good but that he couldn’t eat it all the time.  He is a meat and potatoes kind of guy and told me that I was on my own with the collards.  HAHA.

Lamb's-Quarter Quiche

This recipe is straight from the Taste of Home website.  I  omitted the pie crust and used garlic and herb goat cheese instead of cheddar.  Hey, you gotta work with what you got!

Lamb’s-Quarter Quiche Recipe

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 4 cups chopped lamb’s-quarter (tender new leaves)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 can (12 ounces) evaporated milk or 1-2/3 cups milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) shredded cheddar cheese, divided
  • 1 unbaked pie pastry (9 inches)

Directions

  • In a skillet, saute onion in oil until tender. Add lamb’s-quarter; cook and stir until wilted. Cover and remove from the heat.
  • In a bowl, beat eggs and milk. Stir in salt, pepper, 1 cup cheese and lamb’s-quarter mixture. Pour into pie shell. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake at 400° for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 350° bake 30 minutes more or until a knife inserted near center comes out clean. Let stand 5-10 minutes before cutting. Yield: 6-8 servings

Dessert Time!

So for dessert is Yoforia.  It is a smorgasbord of flavored yogurt with all the toppings imaginable!  Okay so seriously, here are all the flavors of yogurt that they offer:  Original, Green Tea, Pomegranate, Blueberrry, Dark Chocolate, Mango, Honeydew, Pineapple, Taro, Ferrero Rocher, Cookies and Cream, Vanilla Bean, and Cheesecake.  You get a huge cup and fill it up with whatever yogurt your heart desires.  Then you top it off with the many toppings available.  I’m talking all kinds of fruits, nuts, chocolate, crushed candy bars, cereal, gummies, etc.  It is truly incredible – I’m in love.  BTW – they use organic milk and yogurt.  Unfortunately, it looks like there are a handful in Georgia and amazingly three in the Charlotte area.

Dark Chocolate and Cheesecake Yogurt topped with Coconut, Peanuts, and Mochi

Blueberry, Pineapple, Mango, and Pomegranate Yogurt topped with Kiwi and Strawberries

And that’s all folks!

5 responses »

  1. I have to admit that I also would not have know what lamb’s quarter was. Your other greens look amazing too. My CSA has squash coming out of my ears right now so I’m going to have to figure out how to use it up this weekend.

  2. Pingback: Frozen Yogurt Love | Cupcake Jane

Leave a Reply

