PB & J Cupcakes

Standard

PB & J Cupcakes

Well….there really isn’t any Peanut Butter or Jelly in these cupcakes!  I bought blackberries from the Atherton Market Saturday and I’ve been on this Sunflower Butter kick too – so, I was thinking about it last night and BAM, it came to me – why not make them into a cupcake!  As for the name, I just couldn’t see calling them Sunflower Butter and Blackberry Cupcakes.

I followed the Yellow Cake recipe from my Better Homes Cookbook and the Peanut Butter Frosting recipe from my Joy of Cooking Book.  I used Sunflower Butter in place of the Peanut Butter in the Frosting recipe.  For the cake, I added 1 and 3/4 cups of fresh blackberries blended and used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat flour.  I did, however, use too much butter.  I had double the amount of butter, but I caught it after I had mixed it with the sugar, so I scooped half of it back out and added some more sugar back in – no idea how much.  And then I almost forgot the baking powder!! I also think next time I will strain the blackberries so there isn’t any seeds in the cupcake.  You know how it all gets stuck in your teeth?

I wouldn’t call these amazing, but they are quite interesting.  My favorite part is the frosting and chocolate covered sunflower seeds on top and I also love that they are purple!

In other news, I came across the show Cupcake Wars on Food Network late last night (when I really should have been sleeping.)  Four cupcake bakers battle it out to win $10,000 each week.  In the episode I saw, the bakers had the task of creating three different breakfast cupcakes for a golf tournament.  One baker made a cupcake topped with chopped bacon and strawberries which looked really good!  Watch the premiere Tuesday, June 15th at 10pm.

Leave a Reply

