A Plaza Midwood Day

Standard

If you are ever in the Charlotte area, I encourage you to spend a day exploring Plaza Midwood.  It is a fun and eclectic neighborhood with unique shops and restaurants.

First, you can choose to eat at two of my favorite places:  Zada Jane’s or The Dish.  Zada Jane’s has an awesome breakfast menu with the option to get Grateful Growers Farm sausage. It is a $1 extra, but you would be supporting local and you can rest easy knowing it contains no hormones or antibiotics, so just do it!  My breakfast was so delicious that I forgot to take a picture before I finished it all.  I had a chance to take a picture of Vee’s though, because he is a slow eater!

Zada Jane's

Zada Jane's

If you are not feeling breakfast, head across the street to The Dish for some good ol’ homestyle cookin.  They serve Pot Roast, Cajun Meatloaf, and Chicken & Dumplings to name a few and most plates come with a devilled egg on the side.  One of my favorite items to get is the Spinach and Portobello Quesadilla.

Quesadilla and Bacon Cheeseburger from The Dish

The Dish

One other eating option that I do not have a picture of is The Penguin.  They serve some mean juicy burgers and fried pickles!!!

Now after stuffing your face with all this to-die-for food, it’s time for dessert.  Yes I know you saved room, don’t lie!  There is an old school Dairy Queen if you feel like something cool.  I, however, like to go to Nova’s Bakery and get a Lemon Bar.  My friend Jen introduced me to this place when I first moved here and she raved about the sweet and tart Lemon Bars.  So one day we went there and she ordered one and then I ordered one and she said “Oh, I thought we  were going to split one!”  I was like “Um no, I want to eat the whole thing thank you very much!”

Sugar Cookie and Lemon Bar from Nova's Bakery

Nova's Bakery

After dessert, put on your walking shoes and browse around some of the shops.  One of my favs is Pura Vida Worldly Art.  We got this little guy there.  Unfortunately, he had an accident with his arm.  We still love him though! 🙂

Day of the Dead Figure from Pura Vida Worldly Art

Pura Vida Worldly Art

Plaza Midwood also has few antique shops.  I got two cute little Pyrex Refrigerator Dishes from 1510 Antiques.

Butterprint Pyrex Refrigerator Dishes circa 1960's

1510 Antiques

Also check out Hong Kong before you leave the area.  They have awesome vintage clothes for men and women; even cute dresses like this!

Hong Kong Vintage Dress

Hong Kong

There are many more unique and fun stores in this area to check out other than the ones I mentioned.  These were just a few of my favs.  I hope you enjoy a Plaza Midwood Day soon!

2 responses »

    • Thanks Taylor! It’s good food and good shopping, what more could you ask for right? I enjoy reading your blogs too. Those smore cupcakes look sooooo gooood! I will have to try them one day soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

