Chickpea Burgers – A New Love!

Standard

I was soooo exhausted when I got home today.  So tired that I was trying to muster up the energy to cook my dinner.  There are not many food items (besides snacks) in my kitchen that don’t need some type of prepping, cooking or chopping.  There was no way I was stooping down to Vee’s Ramen Noodle stash.  NO way, NO Sir.  I needed sustenance, so I decided on a Chickpea Burger recipe that I had been wanting to try.  This recipe was posted by Chouny at the recipezaar.com website.  The recipe calls for carrots, but I used bell pepper instead because that’s what I had on hand.  It was fairly quick and easy to make.  I just needed a decent food processor.

Chickpea Burgers

I dug into the first bite as I stood over the stove.  It was a total explosion of flavors in mouth and although this wasn’t dessert, it might as well been, because it was that GOOD!  I ended up eating two more burgers standing there over the stove like a ravenous wild animal and in that moment I was happy that I put forth the effort to cook.

Since it is called a Chickpea Burger, I was planning on eating it on a bun with tomato and such, but I found I was more than content eating it plain.  It was crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.  I have to give mad props to Chouny for this recipe because it is totally kick-booty!  I think I have found a new love.  You guys have to try this!

Chickpea Burgers

Ingredients

  • 1 carrot (medium size grated)
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 (19 ounce) can chickpeas
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons plain flour
  • oil (for frying)
  • 2 slices whole wheat bread (cut in round shapes)
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 red onion

Directions

  1. Peel the carrots, grate them coarsely and set them aside.
  2. Peel and roughly chop the garlic.
  3. Drain and rinse the chickpeas and put them into a food processor with the garlic, ground spices, salt and pepper. Slightly process to obtain a rough paste then add the carrot, egg, and flour and process briefly until evenly mixed but slightly rugged.
  4. Heat the oil in a frying pan and divide the mixture into 8. Fry in batches for 2–3 minutes on each side, until golden, then drain on kitchen paper.
  5. Keep opened chickpea can to cut round shapes in bread slices. Toast each slice in toaster or in frying pan.
  6. Serve with slices of tomato and red onions and mayonnaise.
One response »

Leave a Reply

