Happy Birthday V

Standard

It was Vee’s birthday this past week, which involved pizza and cake!  First up was Brixx Pizza with his sister Christie.

Birthday boy and sis

This was mine and Vee’s first time there.  I had heard a lot of good things about this place and it did not disappoint.  The place smelled of buttery garlic upon walking in.  *sigh*  I had the Wild Mushroom Pizza and it was SOOOOO Gooood.

Wild Mushroom wood-roasted shiitake, portobello and button mushrooms, mozzarella cheese, topped with fresh arugula and shaved parmesan

Christie had the Quattro Fromaggio (mozzarella, parmesan, gouda and goat cheeses with sun-dried tomatoes) and it was SOOOOO Gooood.  Vee had the Americo (sliced pepperoni with mushrooms and fresh tomato sauce) which I didn’t have, but he said it was SOOOOO Gooood too.  The crust was thin and chewy and they pile on the cheese.  Yum Yums in our Tums.

Then we headed home to eat some Birthday Cake.  Vee wanted something with blueberries in it, so I decide on a Blueberry Cake.  I used the Yellow Cake recipe from the Better Homes Cookbook.  The very last step was folding in about 8 ounces of TJ’s organic Wild Blueberries.

I was impatient and didn’t let the cake cool enough before trying to dump it on the cake plate.

I let the rest of the cake in the pan cool and then placed it where it belonged.  Nothing a little frosting can’t fix.

This frosting is absolutely to die for.  This recipe also comes from the Better Homes Cookbook.  It is Butter Frosting.   It includes butter, powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla extract.  That’s it!  Charlie apparently liked it too.  As I was taking pictures on a low table, I noticed his tongue ever so slightly touch the cake.  Don’t worry, I scraped that part off.

Charlie had obviously been plotting to get more frosting.  The next day he used his mind powers to make me drop the rest of the cake on the floor.  I hadn’t secured the cake top properly when I went to pick it up.  Charlie happily mopped the floor for 30 minutes.

Charlie

Happy Birthday Vee!!


Leave a Reply

