Easy Breakfast

Standard

An easy breakfast brought to you by Trader Joe’s (mostly) except for the Maple Syrup.  I think that came from Harris Teeter (aka the Teeta YO!)

I started with Quick Cooking Steel Cut Oats.  Yes, quick cooking because I am HONGRY when I wake up.  These only take 8 minutes.  It normally takes 30 minutes to cook steel-cut oats (aka Irish Oats.)  Who has time for that?

Most people are more familiar with old-fashioned rolled oats.  The kind with the jolly quaker man on the can.

Goooood Morning!

Rolled oats have been cooked a bit and then rolled or flattened out.  Steel-cut oats have been, you guessed it, cut up into tiny pieces with steel blades.  Steel-cut oats are less processed than rolled oats, but both are still 100% whole grain and good for you.  You can learn more about the different types of oats at the EatMoreOats website.

While the oats were cooking, I chopped up my toppings.

Had a little TJ OJ on the side.

Here I have toppings for two:  a banana, sweet & salty pecans, and dried bing cherries.  I learned from the Daily Garnish to chop things up tiny to save calories, but still have the flavor dispersed through the dish.  I obviously didn’t chop these up tiny tiny, but they are smaller than what I started with.  I try.

I put the toppings over the oats once they were done, along with a drizzle of maple syrup.

Let’s eat!

I had TJ’s Gingerbread Coffee in my love mug.  Their Gingerbread Coffee is infused with ginger, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and cloves.  Mmmmm coffeeeeee.

A nice warm breakfast on a cold, brisk morning.

Okay, so maybe it was closer to lunch time.

What did YOU have for breakfast?  Was it quick and easy?

Leave a Reply

