Grab and Go

Standard

You know the drill.  Go to bed late, wake up late, rush to get ready.  Shower, smear on some makeup – no time for hair and then shiiiiit, you realize you don’t even have time to fix yourself lunch to take to work.  I hate when that happens because usually that means you don’t have time for breakfast either, and you end up wasting money on food that you either really don’t want or that is bad for you.  Oh, or is that just me?

Well, I’m here to save myself and maybe a few others from this cycle.  First, it’s always best to fix your lunch the night before.  I think we already know this, but it’s actually doing it that’s the hard part.  I’m still working on this. 🙂

I would however, like to share a few grab-and-go food items that might help us save some time when rushing out the door.

First is, Sabra Hummus Singles.  They are 2 oz. individual servings of hummus that are great for snacking or adding as part of your lunch.  I usually dip carrots, broccoli, and bell pepper in them.  I found these by the carrots and salad mixes.

The only thing I don’t like about it, is that I wish it was half of this size. They say a serving size is 1 oz., so one cup is actually 2 servings.  One cup is 170 calories.

Next, is the LARABAR Mini.  I eat these for snacks, but I love them because they are half the size of a regular LARABAR and only 100 calories each.  The regular size was always a bit more than I wanted to eat at one time for a snack anyway, so the minis are perfect.  I found these at Target.

And finally, I want to share Wholly Guacamole snack packs with you.  I love these so much!  These are probably the most convenient of them all.  I like to make a salad with romaine, corn, black beans, and cheese.  Then I use the guacamole pack as the dressing. Each pack is also 100 calories.

Of course you can cut an avocado and save it yourself, but it takes time, when there is no time.  Avocados tend to be hard to save because air exposure will turn them brown.  You can avoid this by squeezing lime or lemon juice on it.  Then put it in a container and put plastic wrap directly on top and surrounding it, so there is no air in between the lid and the avocado, then put the lid on.  This works for guacamole too.

Charlie says to be sure to take the time to stop and smell the guacamole.

2 responses »

  1. I know that drill all too well. Yesterday, (sunday) I actually took a couple of hours and cleaned and chopped produce so that I could just grab and go. And oddly, I also stopped and picked up a couple of Larabars.

Leave a Reply

