Breakfast Corn Fritters

Standard

Fall is in the air and I’m loving it.  I’m also loving the fall veggies that I’m getting in my CSA from Barbee Farms.  I thought it would be neat to share with you how I use the veggies that I get in my box this week.  Here is what I have:

  • 3 ears corn
  • 2 bell pepper
  • 1 head bok choy
  • 4 small sweet potatoes
  • 2 turnips
  • 1 yellow squash
  • 2 zucchini
Let’s start with the corn shall we?
I don’t usually think of eating corn for breakfast, but cook it up like a pancake and douse it with syrup and I’m good to go!  This recipe comes from the Stonewall Kitchen Breakfast Cookbook.  I have a handy-dandy cookbook holder that I use, given to me as a wedding gift by my Aunt.  (Thanks Aunt Sue!)

Breakfast Corn Fritters

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups fresh corn kernels cut off 2-3 large cobs
  1.  In a large bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt.
  2. Add the milk and whisk until smooth. I had to add a bit more milk to make it smooth.
  3. Beat in the egg.
  4. Gently mix in the corn.
  5. In a large skillet, heat 3 Tablespoons of oil over med-high heat.  Drop 3 Tablespoons of batter into the pan and flatten the mixture.  Cook for 2-3 minutes on each side.
Top with butter and maple syrup.
These taste just like a pancake with corn in them.  I like to call them corn cakes.  Vee said “I like it, but it’s not something I’d order off the menu.”  Don’t listen to him.  They are delish.  The corn makes them sweet and I love the crunch they give against the soft flour.
Charlie and I spent the rest of the day gazing out the window.
Leave a Reply

