Vegged Out

Standard

I think a more appropriate name for this blog would be “Veggie Queen.”

I managed to cook turnips, yellow squash, butternut squash, and bok choy tonight from my Barbee Farms CSA.

I’m not really familiar with cooking turnips, but I have had them raw.  They’re OK.  I figured I couldn’t go wrong with roasting.

To Roast Veggies:

  1. Peel the butternut squash and turnips.
  2. Chop the butternut squash and turnips, along with the yellow squash.  
  3. Toss them with olive oil in a bag to coat, and spread them on a non-stick coated baking sheet.  
  4. Sprinkle with sea salt, pepper, and Garlic Gold and bake at 425 degrees for 30  minutes.

In the meantime, I prepared the  bok choy.

Bok Choy

  1. Wash and chop one head of bok choy.
  2. Pour about 3 Tablespoons of soy sauce in a non-stick pan, and cook the white part of the bok choy for about 5 minutes on medium heat (since they take longer to soften).
  3. Add the rest of the bok choy and cook until the leaves are just wilted.
  4. Take off the heat and drizzle a little bit of toasted sesame oil and sprinkle with red pepper.
So, the yellow squash turned out beautifully.  It melts in your mouth and the Garlic Gold gives it a slight crunch.  The turnips were a little bitter and firmer.  Maybe they needed to cook longer…I don’t think I’m a fan.  Maybe I just don’t know the best way to cook them.
The bok choy was awesome.  I can’t believe it cooked down so much.  To give you perspective, what is on my plate is the whole head of bok choy (with the exception of a few stems).  This is probably about a cup of bok choy.
I made soup with the roasted butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Soup

serves  4

Ingredients

  • 2 small butternut squash – peeled, chopped and roasted.
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 2 Tablespoons of butter or Earth Balance
  • 2 Tablespoons of 100% pure maple syrup
  • 32 ounces of chicken or vegetable broth, or Trader Joe’s butternut squash soup.
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 – 15 ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup of corn, frozen or fresh
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 3 dashes of nutmeg
  • pinch of white pepper to season
  1. Saute the onion with the butter for 5 minutes over medium heat.
  2. Add the maple syrup to the onion and cook an additional 5 minutes on low heat.
  3. Add the black beans, corn, roasted butternut squash, and seasonings.
  4. Add the broth and water and turn to medium heat.
  5. Wait for the soup to come to a boil and then turn heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes.
I ate one bowl and then froze the rest in freezer safe containers, so that I can take them to work for lunch next week.
I promise something sweet tomorrow!
Leave a Reply

