Link

Earlier this week I attended a conference in Chattanooga, Tennessee for my job.  This was very exciting to me for several reasons:  I don’t get to travel much for my job, I had never been to Chattanooga, I got to fly! (I haven’t flown in 12 years) and my friend Sandra lives there now.

Monday night I was able to hang out with my friend Sandra.  She used to live in Charlotte and now she is getting her Masters at the University of Tennessee.  I walked a mile from my hotel to meet her at The Yellow Deli for dinner.

Image

The Yellow Deli opened in the 70’s and they now have a few other restaurants in the states, as well as one in Canada.  This place is so adorable and the food was really fresh.  They serve salads, sandwiches on homemade bread, homemade desserts, a variety of juice, mate, natural sodas, and they even have root beer on tap.

Sandra and I both had the Yellow Submarine.

Image

The spread of the week was addicting.  I’m not sure what it was, but it tasted like hummus blended with pesto.

The inside is really cute too.  It looks like a big tree house.

On the bottom of our ticket, it said “We serve the fruit of the spirit…ask us how.”  According to their website, they serve God.  Sandra says the rumor is that they are a cult, but everyone keeps coming back because the food is good!

After dinner, we grabbed a cupcake from Chattanooga Cupcakes.

Image

Sandra had the red velvet and I had the cinnamon.  Check out the load of icing on these babies!!

Image

That was seriously enough icing for four cupcakes at least.  The cupcakes were tasty, but needless to say, we did not eat all of the icing.

After those sugar bombs, we walked around downtown towards the Tennessee River.

Image

Sandra showed me a glass bridge, which I planned to walk across, but then chickened out.  Despite being excited to fly on a plane, I could not do the bridge….I think because the sides were open.  I realize that sounds crazy.

Image

While walking around downtown, I saw a Moon Pie store and suddenly the random Moon Pie I received in my conference bag earlier made sense.

Image

According to moonpie.com, The Moon Pie was born in 1917 by the Chattanooga Bakery.  Their goal was to make a filling snack for coal miners.  They asked how big and one of the miners held his hand up to the moon and said “about that big”.  And so the moon pie was born.

Honestly, I’ve never been a big fan of the Moon Pie, but I ate the one in my bag.

Are you a Moon Pie fan?

P.S.  All photos were from my iphone.

Leave a comment